COUNTRY's WHO IS WHO (Non-Govt.) ?

Country’s Who is Who : Ravindranath Tagore


Ra(v)bindranath Tagore (Born : 7 May,1861- Died : 7 August, 1941) was a rare and great personality. He was a scholar, freedom fighter, writer and painter and above all a humble man. His contributions to Indian Literature was immense. He won the Nobel Prize in 1913 for his collection of well known poems ‘Gitanjali’.
Tagore was born in West Bengal. He did his schooling in the prestigious St. Xavier School. He has written thousands of Poems and lyrics and about 35 plays about 12 novels, numerous short stories and a mass of prose literature. He was called as ‘Vishwa Kavi’.
Besides the famous ‘ Gitanjali’ his other well known poetic works include ‘ Sonar Tari’, ‘Puravi’, ‘ The cycle of the spring’, ‘ The evening songs’ etc. The names of his well known novels are: ‘Gora’, ‘ The wreck’, ‘ Raja Rani’, ‘ Ghare Baire’, ‘ Raj Rishi’ etc. ‘ Chitra’ is his famous play in verse. ‘ Kabuli Wallah’ and ‘ Kshudita Pashan’ are his famous stories.
In 1901, he founded the Vishwabharati University- earlier known as Shantiniketan at Bolepur in West Bengal. This was founded with the aim of evolving a world culture, a synthesis of eastern and western values. Our National Anthem ‘Jana Gana Mana ……’ was written by him.

Posted In  COUNTRY's WHO IS WHO (Non-Govt.) ? and  Fine Arts & Literary

Tagged In ravindranath tagore

Country’s Who is Who : Annie Besant


Annie Besant (Born : 1 October, 1847-Died : 20 September, 1933) was born in London to Irish parents. In 1893, she left for India having been influenced by the Indian culture and civilization. She was famous as a social worker, educationalist and journalist.
She became a staunch supporter of Indian Independence Movement and her contribution to India’s freedom struggle was remarkable. She founded the Home-Rule League. She revived the Theosophical Society. In 1915, she chaired the Calcutta session of the Indian National Congress. She also edited ‘New India’. She established Indian Boy Scouts Association. She received a prestigious award for her work for scouts. She also studied Hinduism. India is indebted to Annie Besant for her immeasurable work for freedom struggle, educational advancements and social reforms.

Posted In  COUNTRY's WHO IS WHO (Non-Govt.) ? and  Women & Child

Tagged In annie besant and women freedom fighters

Country’s Who is Who : C.V.Raman


C.V.Raman(Chandrasekhar Venkata Raman. Born : 7 November,1888-Died : 21 November, 1970) was a scientist in Physics, who won Nobel Prize in 1930. His discovery of the ‘Raman Effect’ made a very distinctive contribution to Physics. He was knighted by the British Government in 1929. He was also conferred the highest title of ‘Bharat Ratna’ in 1954.
After earning a master’s degree in physics at Presidency College, University of Madras, in 1907, Raman became an accountant in the finance department of the Indian government. He became professor of physics at the University of Calcutta in 1917.
Raman was knighted in 1929, and in 1933 he moved to the Indian Institute of Science, at Bangalore, as head of the department of physics. In 1947 he was named director of the Raman Research Institute there and in 1961 became a member of the Pontifical Academy of Science. He contributed to the building up of nearly every Indian research institution in his time, founded the Indian Journal of Physics and the Indian Academy of Sciences, and trained hundreds of students who found important posts in universities and government in India and Myanmar (Burma). He was the uncle of Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar, who won the 1983 Nobel Prize for Physics.

Posted In  COUNTRY's WHO IS WHO (Non-Govt.) ? and  Science,Social&Spiritual

Tagged In cvraman and raman effect

Country’s Who is Who : Dhyan Chand


Dhyan Chand (Born : on 29 August, 1906- Daied : 3 December, 1979) made great contribution in enhancing prestige of Indian Hockey in the eyes of the world. He was, in Allahabad (Uttar Pradesh). He joined army at the age of sixteen. He started playing hockey in army and was included in the Indian Hockey team for the 1928 Amesterdam Olympics.
By his superior play, Dhyan Chand was held in high esteem with in the country as well as abroad. Dhyan Chand helped his country in winning gold medals in hokey in 3 successive Olympics games; Amesterdam Olympics (1928), Los Angles Olympics (1932) and Berlin Olympics(1936). He was the captain of the gold medal winner Indian Hockey team in the historic 1936 Berlin Olympics. Dhyan Chand scored 101 goals at the Olympic games and 300 goals in other international matches and his record is unbroken. Dhyan Chand had a wonderful command in wielding the hockey stick and this earn him the title ” Hockey Wizard”. India won one gold medal in Hockey at Amersterdom Olympics and out of a total of 28 goals scored by Indian hockey, 11 were scored by Dhyan Chand alone.

Posted In  COUNTRY's WHO IS WHO (Non-Govt.) ? and  Sports & Games

Tagged In hockey dhyan chand

Country’s Who is Who : Dadasaheb Phalke


Dadasaheb Phalke (Born : 30 April, 1870 – Died : 16 February, 1944 )is known as the ‘father of Indian Film Industry’. He was born in 1870. Phalke laid the foundation for the start of a regular feature film industry in the country. He has produced about 175 films.His famous films are ‘Satyavan Savitri’, ‘Mohini Bhasmasur’ and ‘Raja Harichandra’. The outbreak of World War I plunged Phalke into extreme financial crisis. In 1917, he made a grand reappearance with the revised version of Raja Harischandra and India’s first big box office hit ‘Lanka Dahan’.
Phalke has been honoured by naming an award for the outstanding works in the field of films. It is called Dadasaheb Phalke Award.

Posted In  Business & Film and  COUNTRY's WHO IS WHO (Non-Govt.) ?

Tagged In dadasaheb phalke

Country’s Who is who : Dr.B.R.Ambedkar


Dr.B.R.Ambedkar (Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar/Babasaheb) (Born:14 April 1891 –Died: 6 December 1956), popularly known as the ‘Architect of the Indian Constitution’. He was an Indian jurist, economist, politician and social reformer who inspired the Dalit Buddhist movement and campaigned against social discrimination towards Untouchables (Dalits), while also supporting the rights of women and labour. He was Independent India’s first law minister, the principal architect of the Constitution of India and a founding father of the Republic of India. In 1990, the Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian award, was posthumously conferred upon Ambedkar. Ambedkar’s legacy includes numerous memorials and depictions in popular culture.

Posted In  COUNTRY's WHO IS WHO (Non-Govt.) ? and  Political

Tagged In dr br ambedkar and indias who is who